Today is a special day for us. It’s been one year since we released Danmaku!!
To celebrate we’re putting the base game on sale, and showing off a new expansion character card and a new expansion role, both of which use Lunatic Extra’s new mechanic: Extra Characters. Additionally(!) we will be opening playmat preorders very soon(tomorrow). There will be Lunatic Extra characters and art available for playmats. The preorder period will last for 3 weeks. Like last time we will keep the top 10 most popular playmats in stock for some time.
Enough about that, here are today’s releases, along with the Extra Character rules.
Happy Nue Year
Some cards in Lunatic Extra allow you to have more than one Character card at the same time. While every player has just one Character, a player may gain one or more Extra Characters, allowing a player to use the Abilities or Spell Cards of those Extra Characters.
You gain Extra Characters when a card tells you to recruit an Extra Character. To recruit an Extra Character, you shuffle all of the unused Character cards, and draw two. Look at those cards and choose one to keep. That Extra Character has now been recruited. Put the other Character card back in the unused character pile. The card that tells you to recruit an Extra Character will specify whether you gain that character’s Ability, Spell Card, or both.
You lose an Extra Character when a card tells you to dismiss an Extra Character. When you dismiss an Extra Character, shuffle that card back into the Extra Character pile. There is no discard pile for Extra Characters, so you can potentially draw that character again later in the same game.
There are several ways to get an Extra Character: your role (Tag Team), your character’s Ability (Houjuu Nue), or certain Items (Tanuki Leaf). You can have more than one of these at the same time, meaning you can potentially have many Extra Characters all at once.
Each card that grants you an Extra Character works independently. Remember which Extra Character is associated with each source. If one source gives you an Extra Character’s Ability, it only counts the one you recruited from that source. If that source tells you to dismiss your Extra Character, you only dismiss the Extra Characters granted by that source.
Effects that tell you to choose a player or their Character do not allow you to choose Extra Characters. For instance, you cannot use Capture Spell Card to activate the spell card of an Extra Character.